Magnetic North has a clear ethos which many labels espouse but rarely deliver. That ethos is to enable artists to create music irrespective of predominant music industry prejudice, trends or fads.

At Magnetic North, if we believe in the quality of the music we will work for the artist in order to give them the freedom to fulfil their creative ambition. We aim to deliver the traditional values of integrity, humility and honesty with modern, professional application.

At Magnetic North we are guided by a set of core values:

The artist is valued and respected

We are always open and honest about what we can and can't do


Heavyball are Nottingham brothers Bigface and Habs Salisbury, school friend Johnny Iball and Stone Cold Tom Frost. They describe their sound as 'new tone', a modern interpretation of two tone and ska. Influences include Viz, Shane Meadows and the story writing traditions of country and western.

Since supporting both The Kaiser Chiefs and The Selecter they have toured extensively in Switzerland, Germany, Austria, the Netherlands, France, Belgium and the UK. Heavyball’s recordings have been championed by DJs such as 6 Music’s Chris Hawkins and Tom Robinson, BBC Radio Nottingham’s Dean Jackson, BBC Radio Ulster’s Gerry Anderson and BBC London’s Gary Crowley.

Heavyball released their second album When Can You Start? on 1st November 2017

When Can You Start? recounts a week in the life of an ordinary office worker. The diary of a nobody who represents everybody. He doesn’t know it, but this week is different. Because this week is his last on earth.

Storytelling, humour and everyday observations wrapped up in sharp melodies, When Can You Start? is a story of the very ordinary told differently.

Gullich are a three piece math-rock band hailing from the north east; named after the hardcore German rock climber. They incorporate such influences from across the pond as Faraquet, Medications and Texas is the Reason.

Their self titled album will be released May 9th 2016.


The drought is over! MK_ULTRA, a duo based in Yorkshire, bring break neck beats, wild riffs and a lot of attitude with their debut ‘6FT LIZARD’. With promises of more releases this year, MK_ULTRA look certain to make huge waves in the UK scene.


When Can You Start? (Album)

Released November 1st 2017

1) Top Of Your Game
2) Heist
3) Internet Detective
4) People Person
5) Yesterday's Man
6) A Quick Drink In The Worst Bar In The World
7) The Perils of Midweek Drinking
8) Office Party
9) After Dark
10) Retail Is Detail
11) Year Out
12) No More 9 To 5

When Can You Start? (Album)

Black Eye Diaries (Album)

Released October 10th 2015

Ten Uplifting Songs about Death and Disappointment

1) Small Town Hero
2) I Confess
3) Automatic Hit Machine
4) Hands Up
5) Lost Heroes
6) Smalltown Boy
7) Black Eye Friday
8) Wanted
9) Surfin' In Skegness
10) Another Country
11) Unhappy Now
12) Lost Heroes (Acoustic)*only on digital version

Black Eye Diaries (Album)

Gullich (12" Vinyl)

Gullich (12" Vinyl)

Gullich (Album)

Released May 9th 2016

1) Buy the Ticket, Take the Ride 2) Where the Ducks Sleep 3) The New Positive 4) Something You'll Never See 5) Girl Scouts of Japan 6) Always One In 7) Dale Nixon 8) Punks in the Gym '85

Gullich (Digital)

Limited Edition: 100 Copies, 140g Splattered Colour Vinyl
Released 9th May 2016

Limited Edition: 100 Copies, Clear 140g Vinyl
Released 9th May 2016

NGOD (7" Vinyl)

Limited Edition: 100 Copies, Black Vinyl
Released 2016
A) Can You Here Me?
B) Blue


You can submit a demo to Magnetic North by email

Our policy is to listen to and give feedback on everything we receive. This can take time but we recognise that it is part of our responsibility to take the time to respond to contributors.

If you have something that you would like to ask us please email the address below